Two certified courses are required by Hawaii State Law (Act 175, SLH 1999) in order for any persons under the age of 18 to obtain a driver's license in the State of Hawaii. After successfully completing both phases, a student is eligible and must present Completion Certificates from both the classroom and behind-the-wheel phases to the Examiner of Drivers before scheduling a road test.
The Hawaii Graduated Licensing Program
The classroom phase is a 30-hour required course. We will have exciting lessons, interactive games, instructional videos, and much more. It is our intent to educate our students with motivational techniques that will hopefully instill life long attitudes for safe driving.
BEHIND THE WHEEL: Under 18 yrs.
Behind the Wheel is a 6-hour requirement. Our highly qualified instructors have more than 15 years of driver training and experience. Students will be using certified, automatic automobiles offering safety, easy operation and comfort. (learner's permit required)
PRACTICE DRIVING: 50 Hours
Students must practice with any licensed driver over the age of 18 for 50 hours, 40 hours daytime and 10 hours at night. The students parent or guardian must sign a noterized statement saying the student has completed the 50 hours before the student will receive the Behind the Wheel Certificate. (learner's permit required)
Click here for practice driving form
You must be 15-1/2 years old to obtain a permit through the Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) For information call 808-832-4117
HAWAII "PROVISIONAL" DRIVERS LICENSE: (Under 18)
You must be 16 years old and have completed a certified drivers education class and behind the wheel course before you can schedule a road test with the D.M.V. (DMV Information)
Click here to see our class schedule
Click here to register
ROAD TEST APPOINTMENT - CITY & COUNTY (DMV)